Group Admins

• Profile picture of Sam

Serious Running Matters

Public Group active 3 weeks, 1 day ago ago

Serious Running Matters

Running style (7 posts)

← Back To Group   All Discussion Topics
  • Profile picture of Berlinda Berlinda said 1 year, 9 months ago ago:

Ok so here’s the deal. I have been running for 3 yrs now, I love running and feel comfortable when I am out there. Yesterday while running like a demon (so I thought) this guys stops me to tell me my style is all wrong – ok so he does not seem a serial killer/psycho and his apologising for seeming rude – so I listened and paid attention – what he said made sense but puitting it in practise seemed impossible. Seems like I swing the top of my body with my arms (checked out my shadow) and to keep it still felt all wrong, yet my stride did improve when I was able to keep still, but OI VE this does not come with ease. So what is the verdict out there on style?? When you out Marshalling a race you notice a lot of folks are as dorking looking as you whilst running. I need to take 20min off my Om Die Dam Ultra this year (did last yr in 7h14min57sec) so any advise tips will be appreciated.

• Profile picture of Clinton Clinton Hunter (coachclint.co.za) said 1 year, 9 months ago ago:

Absolutely right Berlinda, the first thing I do with my athletes is work at rectifying posture and gait. The biggest issue with rotating your torso while running is using unnecessary amounts of energy, swing your arms forward and that will prevent you shoulders will not swing from side to side. Do some research into gait and posture, you will improve your time, most of us think our posture is perfect when in actual fact improving some aspects will improve time and eventually comfort. It will take time to get used to a new running style no matter how small the change.

Thanks Coach, I will work on this and also look if I can find a website regarding running styles, must admit its hard.